Like a bike…

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.”

– Albert Einstein

It’s easy to lose focus. Knowing this we must put in place safeguards to protect us from the lesser versions of ourselves. Does this ever happen to you? You want to go running in the morning because you realize your cardio isn’t what it used to be…the best version of you puts your shoes and shorts out to be ready in the morning, sets the alarm, and dreams about how great it will fee to be done with that first run in a long time…only to have the lesser version of you hit the snooze and miss the opportunity all together? 

I get motivated in spurts sometimes and set off to learn a new language, HTML5/CSS3/JavaScript maybe…I’ll grab the right books, get access to some online content, and work hard for a couple weeks and hen something will distract me…it might be another mighty goal, but still the previous goal is left unfinished. Speaking of this, check out this new website from General Assembly called DASH…it’s an interactive learning environment a lot like Codecademy. I’ve used both, learned a lot, but since the day to day doesn’t require using the skills, they disappear in memory as things I used to know how to do. 

I ran across a fun site: 16 personalities that was recommended by a #bulletjournal mentor and YouTube personality @bohoberry. 16 personalities proctors a personality test that mirrors the Myers-Briggs protocol but doesn’t charge an arm and a leg to test you, in fact, it’s free and you can explore all of the personalities. They even have personality archetypes like “Architect” or “Commander” or “Virtuoso” to give you an idea of the types with the same traits. I have my guesses, but I’m pretty sure I know where I live on the spectrum and I plan on taking the test tonight to test my theory. The 4 major categories that shape your personality 4-letter code are :

Introvert vs Extrovert (I or E)

Sensing vs Intuition (S or N)

Thinking vs Feeling (T or F)

Judging vs Perceiving (J or P)

An example would be ENTP or ISFJ

The cool part about this is by comparing codes you can see what you have in common or different than those around you. You can see how your world views differ and find common ground. 

What does any of this have to do with the Einstein quote above? As I scanned the personality type I suspect I am, it said one of the traits is inability to stick with a course of action for too long, not finishing much preferrinf dipping toes into 1000 rivers. A self-aware man knows his strengths and weaknesses and can buttress against his lesser tendencies. 

Since I know I have a meandering nature, I actively set up systems that look like hyper-planning to some people. These people wrongly assume me to be ultra-organized but what they see is my safeguard. Perception being reality, who is ultimately right then? Fall Out Boy, in all their angst-filled glory, sang “the road to hell is paved with good intentions, hire a construction crew, cuz it’s hell on the engine” #Actions speak louder than words and Perhaps we could all benefit from a plan of action. More coming soon.

#FFW

Leave a Reply

