Sleepless Nights

It’s not Insomnia, per se.

My work schedule has me working nights and my family doesn’t work nights. On my days off, I adjust to a schedule more like their so that I can see them more hours of these precious few days off. I wouldn’t trade this time with them for anything. This “Jet lag” cycle continues week after week, and the best way I know how to cope with this is simply to STAY UP for one mega long day on the first day, and then sleep when I’m exhausted following that first shift. What does that mean? About a 27-32 hour day that first day, driving home when I’ve already been awake for more than 24 hours into blinding rising sunlight and totally throwing off my circadian rhythm. On long enough days, I can literally “see” tired in front of my eyes as my body attempts to steal moments of Micro Sleep.

Curious what longer periods than this can do to your health? Check it out here: What happens when you don’t sleep?

The brain is pretty incredible, and we can see physically on EEGs what various phases of sleep looks like, in terms of our brain waves here. What I didn’t realize, and learned through trial and error, is that my sleeplessness is contagious…I’m not sleeping because my job mandates it, but the lady of the house is also not sleeping. She’s been finding herself staying up later and later in bouts of sleeplessness. We all do better in the home when Mama is well rested, so we need to find a solution to this newfound issue. I do my best to support quick naps and time away from the #hustle and bustle, but there are only so many hours in the day. Do any of you have any ideas that would help?

Until next time, folks.

#FFW

brain-wave-states

Leave a Reply

